Beirut

Lebanon's National News Agency reported the cause may have been a fire in a hangar where explosives were being stored in the Beirut port, on the country's west coast.

Beirut. Touchy subject for me. October 23rd, 1983, 220 Marines from 1st Battalion, 8th Marines died. I was a senior in High School. One of the guys that survived was an older brother of one of my friends. My little hometown was on pins and needles for 2 weeks before we found out that he had survived the blast. Probably the main reason I joined the USMC along with 9 other guys I graduated with. We were pissed as we considered it an attack on us.

Less than 2 years later, I was aboard the USS Austin off the coast of Beirut as a member of 3rd Battalion, 8th Marines. All we wanted to do was go in and kill every member of Hezzbollah, with VENGEANCE.

Don’t know if nationally this has caught anyone’s attention, but it’s been local news. They are all kids serving their country. May they Rest In Peace. Heartbreaking.

Don’t know if nationally this has caught anyone’s attention, but it’s been local news. They are all kids serving their country. May they Rest In Peace. Heartbreaking.

Those AAVs were in service during my time in the Corps. I was talking to one of my old friends yesterday about the time we rode on those deathtraps. We have funding for advanced equipment for every service but the USMC. It's always been that way. Semper Fi, brothers, and RIP.

Beirut. Touchy subject for me. October 23rd, 1983, 220 Marines from 1st Battalion, 8th Marines died. I was a senior in High School. One of the guys that survived was an older brother of one of my friends. My little hometown was on pins and needles for 2 weeks before we found out that he had survived the blast. Probably the main reason I joined the USMC along with 9 other guys I graduated with. We were pissed as we considered it an attack on us.